Proctor Rails

06/16/2022 - 2022 Season Summary

The 2022 Proctor Rails baseball team took home the Section 7AA Runner-Up plaque. This piece of hardware goes alongside the Section 7AA Championships of 1976, 2011, 2012, and 2016, and the Section 7AA Runner-Up finishes in 1978, 1982, and 1984.

The Rails were 12-7 in the regular season and 5-2 in the playoffs for an overall record of 17-9. Included in the playoffs wins were elimination-bracket victories over Rock Ridge, which had defeated Proctor earlier in the playoffs, and Aitkin and Esko, both of which had won their regular season games against the Rails via the 10-run rule. The wins against Aitkin and Esko were on the same day.

The 2022 squad set new school records for stolen bases (99; the previous record of 81 was set in 1980), lowest strikeouts percent for batting (14.4%, breaking the previous record of 14.9% set in 2011), and saves (five; the previous record of four was set in 2004 and matched in 2016). The team tied the school records for games in a season (26; set in 2011 and matched in 2012 and 2016) and fewest errors per game (1.65, set in 2011).

The team's on-base percentage was .403, good for sixth in school records and only the eighth Rails team to achieve a .400+ OBP. The team's slugging percentage was .420, good for third all-time in school records and only the fourth Rails team to top .400 SLG. The team's batting average was .321, good for second in school records and only the fifth to be greater than .300.

The team's 220 hits is third best all-time for PHS teams and only the fourth to amass more than 200. The team's 44 doubles is third in the school record book and only the fifth to slam 40 or more two-baggers. The team's nine triples is tied for third in school history. The squad's 117 runs batted in is sixth in the school record book and 10th to break the century mark for RBI.

Proctor's fielding percentage was .939 in 2022, second only to the 2011 team's .944.

Statistical batting leaders for the 2022 team: Sam Johnson and A.J. Reyelts had 19 runs scored. Sam Johnson had 32 hits. Sam Johnson and Tanner Olson had eight doubles. Tanner Olson had five triples, two home runs, and 18 RBI. Blake Imhoff had 20 stolen bases. Sam Johnson led in batting, at .471, and on-base percentage, at .544. Tanner Olson led in slugging percentage, at .753.

Statistical pitching leaders were Kennan Reyelts and Nick Terhaar with five wins apiece, Kennan Reyelts with a 1.45 ERA, Grant Walker with 10 appearances, Tanner Olson with three saves, Kennan Reyelts with 38.2 innings pitched, and Terhaar with 46 strikeouts.

These players set or tied school single-season records: Nolan McLeod played in 26 games which tied a record held by 14 previous players. A.J. Reyelts had a 1.6% batting strikeout rate (one strikeout in 63 at bats). This broke the previous record of 1.7% set by Jimmy Merling in 2013. Tanner Olson tied the record for saves, with three. The others who had three saves in a season were Kyle Wojtysiak in 2004 and Luke Nordquist in 2016. Kennan Reyelts posted a 5-0 win-loss record as a pitcher, for a 1.000 win percentage. He tied the school record for win percentage for pitchers with a minimum of five decisions set by Nik Peterson (5-0 W-L) in 1981. Cooper Johnson tied the school record for fielding percentage, at 1.000. He did not make an error in 68 total chances (57 put outs and 11 assists). This tied the record held by Chris Kindgren (1987), Andy Morin (1989), Dan Carlson (2003) and Seth Reinke (2004).

Tanner Olson, a senior in 2022, leaves Proctor with two school career records: a .670 slugging percentage (dropping 2017 graduate John Aase's .618 to second), and 11 triples (one more than Dan Carlson of the Class of 2006).

Three Rails were named to the All-Lake Superior Conference Team: Tanner Olson (1st Team), A.J. Reyelts (2nd Team), and Kennan Reyelts (Honorable Mention).

Team awards will be announced at the banquet on June 22. Team Academic All-State, Individual Academic All-State, All-State, and All-Section 7AA awards have not yet been announced, nor has the Duluth News Tribune All-Area Team.